Drug Crimes

  • How Texas Drug Laws Compare

    …. For this reason, Texas laws severely penalize the possession, sale or manufacturing of even small amounts of meth. Possession In Texas, meth is in the Penalty Group 1 category of controlled substances, which is the most severely restricted category. Possession of even less than one gram of meth is a felony offense, punishable by: Up to two years in prison…

    Matthew Sharp/ The Law Office of Matthew D. Sharp- 25 readers -
  • When Does My Drug Crime Become a Federal Case?

    …, profiting from drug sales or crossing state lines, it is typically handled by state courts. For example, Martin is walking down the street when a police officer stops him and notices that he smells like marjiuana. If the officer searches Martin and finds marijuana, he can be charged with simple possession. This will almost always be handled in state…

    Matthew Sharp/ The Law Office of Matthew D. Sharp- 24 readers -
  • The 101 on Texas Marijuana Laws

    … is a first degree felony punishable by five to 99 years in prison and a $50,000 fine Sale or Distribution Selling pot can have much more severe consequences than simple possession. For example: A gift or seven grams or less for no payment is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2000 fine Selling seven grams or less is a Class…

    Matthew Sharp/ The Law Office of Matthew D. Sharp- 28 readers -
  • Drug Trafficking and Distribution Laws in Texas

    … trafficking as the act of transporting, importing or selling of controlled substances. The law is meant to target drug dealers as well as drug manufacturers of substances like marijuana, cocaine, heroin and prescription drugs. Drug trafficking laws are applied in cases involving people who are found to be in possession of a certain amount…

    Matthew Sharp/ The Law Office of Matthew D. Sharp- 37 readers -
  • Can You Get Probation for a Drug Felony in Texas?

    … If the drug felony is a state jail felony and you have no prior felony convictions, then not only can you get probation, you must get probation. Criminal lawyers will recognize that I’m referring to article 42.12 §15(a)(1) of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. Even if the judge is bound and determined to send you straight to the state jail…

    Bill Mange/ Austin Criminal Defense Lawyer- 5 readers -