- Our Blog
The decision to urinate in a public place can have lasting negative consequences. You may be charged with indecent exposure. If that has already happened to you or a loved one, you need to know the definition of indecent exposure, what legal defenses may be available, and, if convicted, the punishments that may apply to you.
Terroristic Threats: Laws and Consequences in Texas Posted by Matthew Sharp under Threats March 29, 2017 Texas defines assault as intentionally, recklessly or knowingly causing bodily injury to another. Assault is also knowingly or intentionally threatening another with imminent bodily harm. The punishment for assault is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fine.
The state of Texas will soon be the 47th state to ban texting and driving anywhere in the state. Governor Gregg Abbott signed House Bill 62 into law earlier this month. If ticketed for texting while driving in Texas after September 1, 2017, the driver will pay a $25 – $99 fine for a first offense, and $100 – $200 for a repeat offense.
Being Investigated by the CPS: What to Expect Posted by Matthew Sharp under Child Abuse March 1, 2017 Child Protective Services, or CPS, is a division of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS). CPS investigates every found or unfounded claim of child abuse. A false, or unfounded, claim of child abuse occurs when someone contacts the CPS telling them a child was abused.
Property Damage Crimes and Texas Laws Posted by Matthew Sharp under Arson, Property Crimes April 13, 2017 The term “crimes against property” is used to describe common criminal acts involving the destruction or theft of an individual’s property. The victim of this crime can be a person or company. Texas separates common criminal acts involving theft or destruction into two separate categories.
Driving With a Suspended License: Texas Laws and Penalties Posted by Matthew Sharp under Criminal Law, DWI/DUI March 15, 2017 Texas will suspend or revoke a person’s driving privileges for numerous reasons. A suspended license means a person’s driving privileges were temporarily taken away. The person can’t operate a motor vehicle for a specific time such as six months or one year.
Harris County’s new 2017 marijuana laws—known as the Misdemeanor Marijuana Diversion Program—favor personal users. Instead of going to jail if you’re caught with less than four ounces of pot, you can take a class ...
Degrees of Felonies and the Consequences Posted by The Law Office of Matthew D. Sharp under Criminal Law May 31, 2017 In Texas, a felony is a crime that’s punishable by more than a year in jail. With few exceptions, a prison sentence is served in the Institutional Division/State Jail Division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice. Texas felonies are divided into five classes.
This Labor Day is a no refusal weekend. Labor Day is a high-profile holiday—along with New Year’s Eve, St. Patrick’s Day, July 4th, and Memorial Day— because many people travel to attend parties and events with family and friends that include alcoholic beverages on these days. Dozens of drivers are typically arrested for drunk driving on a high profile holiday in Houston.
Probation is an alternative to going to jail or prison. Instead of being incarcerated, the person remains free for the amount of time they’re sentenced to probation. Typically, probation is ordered for one to three years, but sometimes longer. Texas two types of probation: straight probation and deferred adjudication.
Although it might not seem as serious a crime in comparison to an arrest for assault or DWI, you face serious consequences if arrested for driving with a suspended license (DWLS) or driving while your license is invalid (DWLI). This serious criminal offense in Texas may result in fines, surcharges, and jail time.
The holiday season is a time of merriment. More of us eat, drink, and enjoy the season. Unfortunately, drinking alcoholic beverages can increase the odds of arrest for DUI. That’s because Texas law enforcement o ...
Texas is tough on sex crimes, particularly when sex crimes involve children. Being accused of a sex crime is a life-destroying event. If you’re falsely accused of a sex crime and physical evidence is slender or even completely lacking, you might be convicted. After serving your sentence, your name will be included on the public list of registered sex offenders for the rest of your life.
On September 1, 2017, Texans over the age of 18 will be allowed to carry knives, spears, sabers, machetes, and swords. H.B. 1935 (Texas Knife Law Reform Bill) eliminates ownership and restrictions on knives with blades longer than five and one-half inches long, including daggers, double-edged knives, swords, dirks, poniards, dirks, stilettos, and Bowie knives.